Spring awakening

Boost your life energy

Can you also feel that? I love it: The days are getting longer and we get more active with each passing day. Some people react very early to the signs of nature, others give themselves time. We begin to regain consciousness, to feel clearer and to respond with more energy. And now we come to the important topic “energy”. Let´s boost our life energy with our yoga practice, right now with the beginning of spring.

We need energy through the supply of healthy food, fresh air and a positive attitude towards the things of life. It is useful to look at our body like the engine of a car. What happens if the car gets no or even the wrong fuel …. the answer is clear to us all. This is not different for us humans.

If we do not take care of ourselves bodypower can get a problem, digestion and metabolic processes falter, our minds are tight and overall we feel weak. If we get what we need, everything can work, we feel mentally as our body feels, powerful, clear and somehow happier, right? Our body transforms what we supply from the outside into the body’s own energy. And in yoga this energy is called cosmic life energy “prana”.

The prana circulates in our body in a finely structured network, the channels (nadis) and the chakras (energy centers). The main focus is on 7 energy centers that run along the spine from the pelvis to the apex of the head. Each one stands in firm connection to our physical body. It connects to our organs, muscles, bones and glandular systems.

Chakra – mental meaning

  1. Root chakra (Mulhadara chakra) – grounding, rooting
  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana Chakra) – freedom of life, enjoyment, relationships, creativity
  3. Navel Chakra (Manipura Chakra) – Digestion, will to decide, activity, peace
  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra) – Love, openness, compassion
  5. Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra) – expressiveness, communication, listening
  6. Forehead Chakra (Ajna Chakra) -Intuition, Inspiration, Visualization, Knowledge, Memory
  7. Crown chakra (Sahasrara Chakra) -the perfect feeling of oneness, connectedness

You will certainly recognize a numbering of the energy centers, which differs in the yoga styles. Number 1, the root chakra begins at the lower end of the spine and number 7 the crown chakra begins in the middle of the head. In Vinyasa Yoga we work in chakra teaching from the pelvis to the head. In Sivananda Yoga you find the opposite direction.

In their form, the energy centers in the books are described differently. So they each take the shape of a wheel and show up with a diameter of 10 cm and are constantly in motion. They circulate the energy in our body, absorb it and distribute it.

There are many books on chakras, I like to recommend the book by Cindy Dale “The Energy Body of Human” and by Kalashatra Govinda “Chakra Practice Book”. Because there is so much to tell about chakras that it would go beyond the scope here. Last year in the yoga blog “The color of Yoga”, I wrote about the colors of the chakras. Chakras can be stimulated by herbs, colors, gems, body exercises, breath control …… The topic is very exciting. I would like to refer here to the first chakra, to the root chakra.

Yoga presents us with exercises that influence the respective chakra. Chakras are very sensitive and therefore that we influence them by our behavior and also through our psyche. Under negative impacts the energy can no longer flow in our body and the body will eventually react and we can get sick. Therefore take care of an environment in which you can live well and safely. Pay attention to healthy food and exercise in the fresh air.

The following saying is for sure known. “I have lost the ground under my feet.” We all probably have already once felt this feeling of not standing firmly in life. This feeling is linked to the root chakra, the first chakra. The root chakra lies between the anus and the genitals and is connected to the coccyx. Its well-functioning effect is evident throughout the pelvis and in the colon. Healthy, stable bones, strong teeth and nails are closely related to a powerful root chakra. Furthermore, it stands for physical security, strength and presents our basic needs in terms of ownership, money, career, being cared for.

Let us practice yoga in order to dissolve any existing blockages in our energetic system or even better to prevent it from arising.

It is possible to strengthen our well-grounding by forms of exercise that strengthen our balance, the body’s own balance and such that give us strength in expression. All standing positions and balance postures are perfect.

Balance Postures: Dancer (Natarajasana), Tree (Vrksasana), Half Moon (Ardha Chandrasana), Simple One-legged … ..

Standing postures: Warrior positions 1-3, Triangle (Trikonasana), Sitting pose (Utkatasana), Dog looking down (Adho Mukha Svanasana), Standing Pose (Tadasana Samasthithi) ….

Perhaps you will laugh, I do not even notice it, because it has become a habit. When brushing my teeth I’m always standing in the tree (Vrksasana) position 😉 caught! As a result, the leg strength and hip flexibility has improved a lot 🙂 a small exercise, but regularly made this asana has a big impact.

Do your Practice and all is coming – Sri K. Patthabi Jois

Tree Vrksasana You see in the photos, the foot is set on the inner thigh, the variant is to lower the foot further down the calf or put the tip of the toe on the floor. Vrksasana helps you concentrate on your core and stabilizes muscles and joints. Dedication and lightness are the qualities of tree position. The advanced variant is Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana (the bound half lotus in the forward bend).

Author: Claudia Hahn

Visit our yoga & fitness portal to learn how you can benefit from this platform as a teacher, trainer or organizer of seminars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *